Review: A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes, #1)Title: A Study in Charlotte

Author: Brittany Cavallaro

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: March 1st 2016

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Synopsis: The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited not only Sherlock’s genius but also his volatile temperament. From everything Jamie has heard about Charlotte, it seems safer to admire her from afar.

From the moment they meet, there’s a tense energy between them, and they seem more destined to be rivals than anything else. But when a Sherringford student dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Jamie and Charlotte are being framed for murder, and only Charlotte can clear their names. But danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.


My Thoughts

An retelling of Sherlock Holmes? Yes! A female Sherlock? Sign me up! This book delivered on all of my expectations and then some. In the spirit of the original stories, the adventures of Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson will leave you guessing, deducting, and wanting more of both the mystery and their own relationship. Jamie Watson, the descendant of the famous author of the Holmes’s stories, Dr. John Watson. At Sherringford, a prep school in Connecticut, Jamie plays rugby and takes creative writing classes. When he meets Charlotte Holmes, the descendant of Sherlock Holmes, everything changes for him as he’s pulled into her world of mystery and deduction. After someone makes it seem like Jamie and Charlotte killed a student, the police have them pinned as their number one suspect. They have to race to find more clues and solve the mystery before time runs out. Read More »


Review: Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan

Ignite the StarsTitle: Ignite the Stars

Author: Maura Milan

Publisher: Albert Whitman

Release Date: September 4th 2018

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐


Synopsis: Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cocha is a seventeen-year-old girl.

A criminal mastermind and unrivaled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her and her true identity is exposed, they see Ia’s age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control.

Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealth’s military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintances—including Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knives—cause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealth’s clutches before these bonds deepen?

In this exhilarating edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventure—perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles—debut author Maura Milan introduces our world to a thrilling new heroine.


My Thoughts

Ignite the Stars is an interesting read, but you really have to stick with it to the end to feel satisfied, and even then, I had a million questions. I was actually close to DNF-ing it early into the book because of how many I had. But after I got through certain parts and the action picked up, I found myself more engaged than when I started. It’s not a bad story, nor is the writing terrible. Just left me with a lot of questions and needing more to really help me in understanding what was happening. Read More »

WWW Wednesday: March 14th, 2018

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. To participate, just answer the following three questions:


What are you currently reading?

Ignite the Stars

I’m currently reading Ignite the Stars. I saw this title on one of my friend’s To-Read lists on GoodReads, so I immediately requested an ARC of it. I have high hopes! The cover looks awesome and I love the summary. It’ll be released in September.


What did you recently finish reading?

To Kill a Kingdom

I recently finished To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo. Such an amazing book! I give it five stars. If you haven’t read it, you really need to. You can read my review here.


What do you think you’ll read next?

A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes, #1)The Last of August (Charlotte Holmes #2)The Case for Jamie (Charlotte Holmes #3)

I’m in Florida at Disney World right now, so I don’t think I’ll be doing a whole lot of reading. However… I’d like to take the time to get through some ARCs I have. I’d also really like to reread A Study in Charlotte and The Last of August before getting into The Case for Jamie. I love Sherlock stories, and the first two in the Charlotte Holmes series were pretty awesome. I have high hopes for the third book.


What are you reading now? Are any of these books on your TBR? Let me know!

Review: To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

To Kill a KingdomTitle: To Kill a Kingdom

Author: Alexandra Christo

Publisher: Feiwel Friends

Release Date: March 6th 2018

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Synopsis: Princess Lira is siren royalty and the most lethal of them all. With the hearts of seventeen princes in her collection, she is revered across the sea. Until a twist of fate forces her to kill one of her own. To punish her daughter, the Sea Queen transforms Lira into the one thing they loathe most—a human. Robbed of her song, Lira has until the winter solstice to deliver Prince Elian’s heart to the Sea Queen or remain a human forever.

The ocean is the only place Prince Elian calls home, even though he is heir to the most powerful kingdom in the world. Hunting sirens is more than an unsavory hobby—it’s his calling. When he rescues a drowning woman in the ocean, she’s more than what she appears. She promises to help him find the key to destroying all of sirenkind for good—But can he trust her? And just how many deals will Elian have to barter to eliminate mankind’s greatest enemy?


My Thoughts

To Kill a Kingdom is an absolutely amazing book, and for it to be this author’s debut novel is pretty impressive! I love the story, the fantasy, the characters, everything about this book. I was engaged from beginning to end. Lira, a siren, is the daughter of the Sea Queen. Ever since their goddess was killed by humans, sirens steal a heart once a year in the month of their birth. Lira’s infamy for taking the hearts of princes earns her the nickname “Princes’ Bane”. Elain is the prince of Midas, but he’d rather be with in his boat on the sea than ruling the kingdom. Out there, he hunts sirens with his crew and searches for a way to stop the killing.

When the two hunters meet, Lira kills a mermaid. In response, her mother changes her into a human, without her siren strength or voice, and will not change her back until she returns with Elain’s heart. In search of the key to usurp the power of the sirens, Elain finds Lira alone in the ocean. As he takes her on board, he has to decide if he can trust this stranger, and she must decide what she truly wants.Read More »

Review: Circe by Madeline Miller

CirceTitle: Circe

Author: Madeline Miller

Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

Release Date: April 10th 2018



Synopsis: In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. But Circe is a strange child–not powerful, like her father, nor viciously alluring like her mother. Turning to the world of mortals for companionship, she discovers that she does possess power–the power of witchcraft, which can transform rivals into monsters and menace the gods themselves.

Threatened, Zeus banishes her to a deserted island, where she hones her occult craft, tames wild beasts and crosses paths with many of the most famous figures in all of mythology, including the Minotaur, Daedalus and his doomed son Icarus, the murderous Medea, and, of course, wily Odysseus.

But there is danger, too, for a woman who stands alone, and Circe unwittingly draws the wrath of both men and gods, ultimately finding herself pitted against one of the most terrifying and vengeful of the Olympians. To protect what she loves most, Circe must summon all her strength and choose, once and for all, whether she belongs with the gods she is born from, or the mortals she has come to love.

With unforgettably vivid characters, mesmerizing language and page-turning suspense, Circe is a triumph of storytelling, an intoxicating epic of family rivalry, palace intrigue, love and loss, as well as a celebration of indomitable female strength in a man’s world.



My Thoughts

Madeline Miller is an absolutely brilliant writer, which I’m reminded of once again with Circe. What a fantastic story! Miller takes the mythologies we know, the characters we kind of remember from the stories, and morphs them into full-fledged individuals with more life than we ever expected. You might remember Circe from the Odyssey, the witch on the island Aiaia who turned men into pigs when they crossed her. In Madeline Miller’s story, there’s so much more to her than the myths give us. Read More »