Review: The Case for Jamie by Brittany Cavallaro

The Case for Jamie (Charlotte Holmes #3)Title: The Case for Jamie

Author: Brittany Cavallaro

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: March 6th 2018

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Synopsis: The hotly anticipated and explosive third book in the New York Times bestselling Charlotte Holmes series.

It’s been a year since the shocking death of August Moriarty, and Jamie and Charlotte haven’t spoken.

Jamie is going through the motions at Sherringford, trying to finish his senior year without incident, with a nice girlfriend he can’t seem to fall for.

Charlotte is on the run, from Lucien Moriarty and from her own mistakes. No one has seen her since that fateful night on the lawn in Sussex—and Charlotte wants it that way. She knows she isn’t safe to be around. She knows her Watson can’t forgive her.

Holmes and Watson may not be looking to reconcile, but when strange things start happening, it’s clear that someone wants the team back together. Someone who has been quietly observing them both. Making plans. Biding their time.

Someone who wants to see one of them suffer and the other one dead.

************************

My Thoughts

Warning: There may be spoilers for A Study in Charlotte and The Last of August. If you have not read this book and do not wish to be spoiled, please don’t read this! Thank you.Read More »

Advertisements

Review: The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro

The Last of August (Charlotte Holmes #2)Title: The Last of August

Author: Brittany Cavallaro

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: February 14th 2017

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐💫

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Synopsis: Watson and Holmes: A match made in disaster.

Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes are looking for a winter-break reprieve after a fall semester that almost got them killed. But Charlotte isn’t the only Holmes with secrets, and the mood at her family’s Sussex estate is palpably tense. On top of everything else, Holmes and Watson could be becoming morethan friends—but still, the darkness in Charlotte’s past is a wall between them.

A distraction arises soon enough, because Charlotte’s beloved uncle Leander goes missing from the estate—after being oddly private about his latest assignment in a German art forgery ring. The game is afoot once again, and Charlotte is single-minded in her pursuit.

Their first stop? Berlin. Their first contact? August Moriarty (formerly Charlotte’s obsession, currently believed by most to be dead), whose powerful family has been ripping off famous paintings for the last hundred years. But as they follow the gritty underground scene in Berlin to glittering art houses in Prague, Holmes and Watson begin to realize that this is a much more complicated case than a disappearance. Much more dangerous, too.

What they learn might change everything they know about their families, themselves, and each other.

************************

My Thoughts

Warning: There may be spoilers for A Study in Charlotte. If you have not read this book and do not wish to be spoiled, please don’t read this! Thank you.Read More »

Review: A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes, #1)Title: A Study in Charlotte

Author: Brittany Cavallaro

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: March 1st 2016

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Synopsis: The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited not only Sherlock’s genius but also his volatile temperament. From everything Jamie has heard about Charlotte, it seems safer to admire her from afar.

From the moment they meet, there’s a tense energy between them, and they seem more destined to be rivals than anything else. But when a Sherringford student dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Jamie and Charlotte are being framed for murder, and only Charlotte can clear their names. But danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.

************************

My Thoughts

An retelling of Sherlock Holmes? Yes! A female Sherlock? Sign me up! This book delivered on all of my expectations and then some. In the spirit of the original stories, the adventures of Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson will leave you guessing, deducting, and wanting more of both the mystery and their own relationship. Jamie Watson, the descendant of the famous author of the Holmes’s stories, Dr. John Watson. At Sherringford, a prep school in Connecticut, Jamie plays rugby and takes creative writing classes. When he meets Charlotte Holmes, the descendant of Sherlock Holmes, everything changes for him as he’s pulled into her world of mystery and deduction. After someone makes it seem like Jamie and Charlotte killed a student, the police have them pinned as their number one suspect. They have to race to find more clues and solve the mystery before time runs out. Read More »

Review: Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan

Ignite the StarsTitle: Ignite the Stars

Author: Maura Milan

Publisher: Albert Whitman

Release Date: September 4th 2018

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Synopsis: Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cocha is a seventeen-year-old girl.

A criminal mastermind and unrivaled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her and her true identity is exposed, they see Ia’s age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control.

Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealth’s military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintances—including Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knives—cause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealth’s clutches before these bonds deepen?

In this exhilarating edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventure—perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles—debut author Maura Milan introduces our world to a thrilling new heroine.

************************

My Thoughts

Ignite the Stars is an interesting read, but you really have to stick with it to the end to feel satisfied, and even then, I had a million questions. I was actually close to DNF-ing it early into the book because of how many I had. But after I got through certain parts and the action picked up, I found myself more engaged than when I started. It’s not a bad story, nor is the writing terrible. Just left me with a lot of questions and needing more to really help me in understanding what was happening. Read More »

WWW Wednesday: March 14th, 2018

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. To participate, just answer the following three questions:

************************

What are you currently reading?

Ignite the Stars

I’m currently reading Ignite the Stars. I saw this title on one of my friend’s To-Read lists on GoodReads, so I immediately requested an ARC of it. I have high hopes! The cover looks awesome and I love the summary. It’ll be released in September.

************************

What did you recently finish reading?

To Kill a Kingdom

I recently finished To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo. Such an amazing book! I give it five stars. If you haven’t read it, you really need to. You can read my review here.

************************

What do you think you’ll read next?

A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes, #1)The Last of August (Charlotte Holmes #2)The Case for Jamie (Charlotte Holmes #3)

I’m in Florida at Disney World right now, so I don’t think I’ll be doing a whole lot of reading. However… I’d like to take the time to get through some ARCs I have. I’d also really like to reread A Study in Charlotte and The Last of August before getting into The Case for Jamie. I love Sherlock stories, and the first two in the Charlotte Holmes series were pretty awesome. I have high hopes for the third book.

************************

What are you reading now? Are any of these books on your TBR? Let me know!